29.6.19. Engaru to lake Saroma.

37ml. After the day off I wait for the rain to stop before having breakfast, coffee and peanut butter sandwich. Dry the tent and pack up sharp before it rains again. It’s warmer today, 18°, so off I go to Yubetsu. Rode to the top end of the lake till you could go no more, where the sea comes in between land and into the lake. The campground is closed. So dead opposite where I am is a rider house, 12ml away so I sprint round there and arrive just as the rain starts. No one here. Doesn’t open for another hour and I can’t ring to book a space due to language barrier. Let’s hope there’s room for me, so I take shelter and decide to wait rather than do another 10ml to the next campsite. Only half an hour and the guy turns up and there’s space in the railway carriage. ¥300 for the night and ¥100 for the shower oh and the washing machine is free so I do all my laundry. So that was great and all for £2.90. I make myself a curry and rice, coffee with a bar of chocolate and retire to my carriage.

1st to arrive in the carriage and set up my space.

Rider house accomodation

The massive lake samora, biggest in Hokkaido

Shrine on the way at Yubetsu

Leave a comment